Before you acquire a firearm, it is imperative to be aware your state’s gun laws, to avoid getting into trouble with the law. After all, you do not want to pay a fine or end up in jail just because you are fascinated by firearms.
According to the Pennsylvania Criminal Code, Title 18, Chapter 61, if you are carrying a concealed firearm on your person or in your vehicle without a license, you will be charged for breaking the law. However, this excludes anyone carrying a concealed firearm at their home or place of business.
If you are eligible to get a license and have not committed any criminal offenses, then a concealed firearm violation will be considered a first-degree misdemeanor. A first-degree misdemeanor can land you a five-year prison sentence in Pennsylvania, up to $10,000 in fines, or both if you are convicted. If you are not eligible to obtain a Pennsylvania license, you can be charged with a third-degree felony that can land you a sentence of up to seven years in prison, $15,000 in fines, or both.
There are some exceptions to the concealed firearm violation that can save you from paying the penalties. Those who are exempt include:
- A member of local, state, and federal law enforcement.
- A member (including reserves) of the U.S. military.
- An enrolled member of a Pennsylvania or U.S. organization to receive or purchase firearms.
- Anyone going for or doing target practice provided that the firearm is not loaded.
- Security firm or bank employees who are required to protect valuables or money, like armored truck drivers.
- Anyone who is involved in the manufacture, repair, or dealing of firearms and usually has to carry a firearm to conduct business.
- Anyone legally allowed to transport firearms between states.
- Anyone who is teaching others how to safely handle a firearm.
- Anyone who is training a dog during a regular training session.
- Anyone who is carrying an unloaded firearm that is wrapped securely right after purchasing, repair, appraisal, or sale.
- Anyone moving homes or offices.
- Anyone who is recovering stolen property.
- Anyone who is instructed to relinquish a firearm back to a location.
- Anyone who has a firearm in their vehicle along with a valid license for that weapon that is under the federal law or another state’s law.
- Anyone whose Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms has expired within six months of their arrest date, taking into account that the person is eligible for a renewal.
- Anyone who is licensed to hunt, that is, if they are hunting or going to hunt.
- Anyone eligible to possess a firearm and is driving a motor vehicle that is registered in their name or the name of their parent or spouse, and the firearm is legally licensed to their parent or spouse.
If you want to purchase a high-quality firearm, need minor gunsmithing, or want to sell your handguns, visit Eagle Arms, the gun shop of choice in Breinigsville, PA. You can also get in touch with us through our website.